The Land of Misfit Toys: What the Heck Happened to Last Years Christmas Presents?

18 Dec

Every year I clear out the kids toy chest to make room for the new junk that will be purchased this year. However, when I went through her closet this year, I couldn’t remember what the heck I bought her for Christmas last year because I don’t remember her playing with much or should I say any of it. After a mind meld of sorts, I figured out what it was, where it was, and why she wasn’t feeling it.

password journalThe electronic diary: I wanted her to have something where she could write her thoughts and feel like she could keep it to herself (until I decide to read it). However. The darn thing didn’t work to her liking. The “password” didn’t keep it locked and the “secret” was a marker that can only be seen under a UV light. According to my daughter, after I finally put batteries in it, a full 8 months after the holidays, she told me, “Mommy, you got ripped off!” Said toy is in the back of the closet.

imagesCA0M33USFijit Friends: She ended up getting two of these because the dear CoParent doesnt like to communicate about anything. So not only did I not realize that it was an annoying toy that only makes even more annoying sounds, we now had two of them! This toys “annoy mommy” factor was so high, I kinda had to ban it to the “only play with when mommy is not around” pile. Yeah, its kinda harsh but we have a small apartment and I can practically hear when she scratches from across the house. This toy as well is in back of the closet.

DSI Games: Now these were winners! I still can’t remember which ones I bought but she loved them, she could put them on mute and it was a WIN WIN for the apartment!

SnowFlurryOutfitAmerican Girl Doll stuff: I bought her a winter white snow suit and Coconut the dog for her American Girl Doll. This was a WINNER! She loves that doll and the outfit matched hers so YAY!

I know there was other stuff, but honestly, I can’t remember. Goes to show you just what we SHOULD be doing during the holidays which is not driving ourselves crazy buying our kids stuff they don’t need, want or even remember.

Le sigh.

#modelmombehavior

Leave a Reply

