Dumb Things Pregnant Women Pay For: Obsessing Over Baby In the Womb

27 Nov

I admit, I did get a little crazy when my child was still in the oven. I talked to her, I played music for her, I even put my sonogram in a frame and put a Santa hat on it and took pics for Christmas and sent it to friends via my cell phone. Hey don’t judge me. But glorifying the whole 9 month experience has gone WAY too far and is beyond the scope of me sending out a pic of my sonogram in a Santa hat. As per the NY Daily News, a Japan firm is now making and offering for sale a 3D model of your fetus for $1200 dollars.

Yes you heard me. The 3.6-inch resin model of the white fetus, encased in a transparent block in the shape of the mother’s body, is fashioned by a 3D printer after an MRI scan. AND they even put it on a key chain if you like. Now, I am all about creating moments to remember, but why the heck would I want to show this off to friends. Hey look at my tiny uncooked baby on a key chain. This goes right up there with getting a mold of your stomach made. Why would you want a paper machete of  your huge belly, what is the purpose, I don’t get it. And where do you keep it? 😦 I am already having nightmares about this mess. It looks like the alien from Alien. Yuck.

The bad thing is that, it’s not the idea that someone came up with this, the bad thing is that, someone is going to pay for this. Yes, somewhere, outside of Japan, some hormone induced psycho is getting ready to purchase a model creepy baby thing.

#modelmombehavior

2 Responses to “Dumb Things Pregnant Women Pay For: Obsessing Over Baby In the Womb”

  1. dianamv November 28, 2012 at 1:39 am #

    I was already having a hard time with our babies being in 3D but a 3D model!! Great!! What will they think of next…hopefully nothing else unless its helpful to our children!

    • The Model Mom November 28, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

      It is just so creepy and beyond icky. I know childbirth and pregnancy are AMAZING. I was amazed, but this is just beyond me. Once, I saw some woman in a maternity shoot with her baby’s sonogram airbrushed on her naked belly O_o.

Leave a Reply

