The Lonely Part of Single Parenting

20 Oct

I am a very busy person, I date, have tons of friends, social engagements, playdates, mommy friends, etc. I am never at a loss if group activities with couples or singles with children.  And I love my life.

But with that all being said, there is one thing that I do miss about parenting w/ my ex. And no, he’s not dead, or in jail we just do not speak casually AT ALL for reasons too deep to explain at this time. What I miss is having that person, the other half of her DNA makeup to talk to ABOUT my child with on a less superficial “she is so cute” level.

Sure I can talk about and with my child to friends, relatives and my therapist about child rearing issues, but sometimes I feel like they somewhat dont “get it” because they aren’t linked, to her. When I want to send a funny pic or joke or reference to someone about my kid or talk to someone about her baby moments till now I end up thinking. Do they even give a crap?!

So, for those of you who have better coparenting relationships than I, appreciate the communication. And for those that dont, well I am sure you know on some level how it feels. And in the meantime, I share with all of you.

Cheers!

#modelmombehavior

2 Responses to “The Lonely Part of Single Parenting”

  1. Hammer of Truth October 20, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    I liked this post. I don’t have kids of my own. But I dated a woman with a child, a daughter. She was very special to me, and I miss her very much. I can say that I felt like she was a daughter to me in a way. This post made me think of her. Thank you.

    • The Model Mom October 28, 2012 at 1:19 am #

      Hey Hammer! Im happy the post brought back some good memories!

Leave a Reply

