“Mommy, do you still love Daddy?” The Co-Parenting Answer

16 Oct

While getting ready for bed the other night, my lovely munchkin asked, “Mommy, do you still love Daddy?” I immediately froze and in my mind, I began to instinctively spew out a few answers: -Awe hell mother nukkin NO! -Please don’t make me gag. -I don’t think dad even likes girls hunny. -Its not that I don’t love him as much as I wish he were no longer on the planet. -I love your dad as much as Posh Spice likes food. Then I thought: -Is she still not over the break up? -Did he put her up to this? -Is he blaming me still for the breakup? I sorted myself out quickly as I tried to figure out what to say. And you know what I did… I put her in my lap and said, “All of the love that I had for your dad, well I took all of it and gave it to you.” Now THAT was a home run for mom! Then the kid told me I needed to go on some Christian online dating site because she wanted another sibling. Good Grief! #modelmombehavior

16 Responses to ““Mommy, do you still love Daddy?” The Co-Parenting Answer”

  1. ateatray December 31, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Brilliant. I just love this.

  2. Cloudy With a Chance of Wine December 31, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    Nicely done, my friend!

    And thanks so much for linking up today.

    Happy New Year!

    • The Model Mom December 31, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

      Why thank you my dear, I try, I really do! 🙂

  3. The Dose of Reality (@TheDoseTweets) January 26, 2013 at 10:24 am #

    Seriously, that is an amazing answer. Came by from SITS Sharefest on Twitter.

    • The Model Mom January 26, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

      Thanks so much. It came to me in one of those slow motion moments. Like where time is ticking by normal for the other person but for me its SUPER slow. 🙂 I love SITS!

  4. sjskill January 26, 2013 at 10:41 am #

    Don’t you love when you do something fantastic when you’re sure you can’t. Congrats on the answer. I was smiling and a little sad at your real answers. One day at a time. Visiting from Sharefest. Enjoy.

    • The Model Mom January 26, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

      YES, it is so very very very hard. MY mother didnt do such a great job in the early days. I cant blame her, but I remember what the aftermath was and how her comments about him impacted me to this day. So I made it a point to NEVER do that to my kid. After all, she is part of him as well. Even if it is only the 2% of him that is human. LOL

      • sjskill January 27, 2013 at 12:17 am #

        Your daughter may never know what a difference your attitude makes, but the world will.

  5. Monica January 26, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    This is a tough one, but I think you handled it well. Visiting from Sharefest http://monicasmommusings.com

  6. Krystle (@HomeJobsbyMOM) January 26, 2013 at 11:18 am #

    Your initial comments were funny. My dad always told me he still loved my mom even way after they were divorced and remarried.

    • The Model Mom January 26, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

      That is AWESOME! Well, for me, the only reason why I dont regret ever meeting my ex and havent built a Delorian to wipe him off the face of the earth before he was born is that I LOVE MY AWESOME KID so friggin much. So, he did in fact serve a purpose other than to harass me for the past 4 years since we broke up. I wouldnt change that for anything in the WORLD!

  7. bequoted January 26, 2013 at 11:54 pm #

    I wonder if your face “said” all of the things that immediately came to your mind…priceless! Lmbo! Your actual response was wonderful. Love this post. Andrea @ be-quoted.com visiting from SITS.

    • The Model Mom January 27, 2013 at 12:16 am #

      LOL, luckily she was sitting on my lap and was unable to see the “whatchu talkin bout willis” face that I made!

Leave a Reply

